Make your own free website on Tripod.com

TINA IS SO SWEET AND SEXY! hehe

About Me

"Take a step outside yourself and turn around, take a look at who you are. It's pretty scary"
-Kurt Cobain


I hear there are a lot of weirdos on the net, but I haven't met one yet!Hello, my name is Rich. I am a 19 year old male living in a small city in the Upstate/Central New York region. I have a wonderful girlfriend named Kim, who will have her own webpage available soon. Her and I share so much together and have grown very close, I love her very much. She's the best! I have many hobbies and interests, which I will go into detail further down in the page. I also have information about my education, work, future plans, etc., if you are interested in learning about me. Of course I also have many pictures to look at as well.


Hobbies / Interests

I love to play the guitar, bass guitar, singing, and writing my own original songs. I don't play too many cover songs, but I do play some and they can be fun too. I am currently working on creating a Demo style recording, which I call the Specter project. I am doing all songwriting, vocals, guitars, bass, keyboards, Drum programming, mixing and recording.

The music I listen to ranges from alternative rock and grunge to punk and industrial and various other styles. Some of my favorite bands are Guns N' Roses, Nirvana, Green Day, The Goo Goo Dolls, Orgy, Nine Inch Nails, Filter, Eve6, Rage Against The Machine, Rancid, and Creedance Clearwater Revival. There are also many, many other bands that I like a lot too. I am also a big fan of a lot of local music. I like listening to some of the local bands, most of which are very good. Kim and I often go to a community coffee house called  The Ozone (especially on open mic night) and listening to local music. Also, if you are interested, you may check out  My Music Collection to see what tapes/CD's I have with a short review of each one.

I also like tinkering with computers, I have dabbled quite a bit with UNIX and some basic programming, mostly in Quick BASIC and Visual BASIC but also some entry level C/C++ at one point. I have also have fairly strong experience in using MS-DOS, Windows 3.x, Windows 95/98, and Windows NT 4.0 Workstation. The UNIX variants I worked with mostly consisted of Linux flavors, from Red Hat 5.0 up to Mandrake 6.0.

There are many other things I like to do such as cycling (occasionally) and being outdoors in the warm weather, writing poetry, philosophy, self improvement, and of course being with those that I care about (like my sweetheart Kim). I also suppose this website could be considered a hobby of mine, since I usually try to update it fairly frequently. Surfing the net and using ICQ are also interests of mine.


Education

I am currently in my second year at the State University Of New York at Morrisville-Norwich Extension, or SUNY Morrisville-Norwich for short. I am a Liberal Arts / Social Sciences major. Whatever that is, eh? I started college majoring in Computer Systems Technology and then switched to Technical Writing, and shortly afterwards switched into my current major.

Some of the classes that I have already taken or am currently taking include: Marketing, General Psychology, Math, Hardware/Software Concepts, Sociology, Economics, Language and Composition, Literature and Composition, Science and Society, Microcomputer Techniques, Visual Basic programming, Spreadsheet Concepts, Personal Keyboarding, Western Civilization I and Western Civilization II, Human Biology and American Literature II. There may be others that I am forgetting as well. Overall, I am happy with the courses I have taken and the school I go to in general.

I graduated High School with the class in 1998 at the age of 17, and began college 4 days after my 18th birthday. For my junior and senior years, I attended a Vocational / Technical education school for approximately half of my school day to participate in a 2 year Security / Law Enforcement program which I also graduated from. The curriculum of this class included learning all major aspects of the Criminal Justice system including several weeks of actual work experience. This class was probably the best class I have ever taken and it changed my life for the better, and I learned so much there that I will never forget.


Work

I currently work as a (contract) security guard at a pharmaceuticals research / development / manufacturing facility. I've been there since early December of 1998, and I usually work four days a week from 0000-0800 (Midnight to 8am). I don't mind it, and in many ways I like the job. Most of the time I prefer working the 0000-0800 shift, I've grown used to it and it is usually very convenient for my schedule.

Before working as a security guard, I worked in a church office where I helped prepare and mail newsletters and bulletins. I worked there for about 6 months. I liked the job quite a bit, but it was less than 10 hours a week. I worked for two consecutive summers for Chenango Place Products, which was a summer program job that sold local products and souvenirs throughout the summer at various special events. Other jobs I have worked at included at a Christian Neighborhood Center where I worked mostly in the office during the evenings after school. These pre-security jobs were based strongly on office, computer, and sales skills.


My Future Plans

I am not totally sure what I want to do with my life just yet, especially in regards to career and educational. I do know that I want to obtain my Associate's Degree in Liberal Arts / Social Sciences and continue my education. I have not yet decided if I want to pursue a Bachelor's Degree in the same field or not. It is a strong possibility. Another possibility that I am considering is pursuing another associate's degree part time while I work full time. However, lifelong learning is important to me.

As for a career, I have considered working in the social services field- perhaps an anger management counselor or probation officer. I have also considered possible job opportunities with the New York State Police, working in the computer technology industry, private investigation, and music. However, I have not looked thoroughly enough into any of these occupations to be positive on exactly what I do want to do for a career for the rest of my life.

I would love to be in a band, but I am not sure that I would want that as an occupation. But as an occupation or not, one of my goals is to be in a band that does shows. I also hope to get married someday, with the possibility of kids. I've also poked at the idea of starting my own business. Hmm.
 


Pictures

I have quite a few pictures on this site. There are pictures of me, my girlfriend, my guitars, a New York City trip Kim and I went on, and many other things that I thought I would snap a picture of and stick up here. If you are interested in checking anyof these pictures out you can go to my Pictures page. I also have a special page on my website that features only pictures of the New York City trip, which you are welcome to check out as well. Let me know what you think by filling out the survey below!
 



 
 
 


Contact Information

E-mail: Rich@Philosophers.net
URL:  http://richchristie.tripod.com
ICQ: 5807288 (or 2438204, old one)
Voice Mail: 1-888-Excite2 Pin#: 60-73-36-67-17
MSN Instant messenger: stetson01@hotmail.com